Studio-hopping: Aerial hoop class at Footworks Dance Studio

From the day I tried pole and aerial arts in my home base at Pole Dolls Dance Studio, I got hooked so much that I decided to try studio-hopping. Thanks to KFit, I was able to take classes from different studios in Metro Manila; one of which is at Footworks Katipunan.

Footworks Dance Studio is managed by Polecats Manila, whose main branch is in Ortigas. They offer pole, aerial hoop (aka lyra), and aerial silks classes open to beginners and experienced students. This branch is along Katipunan extension, located at the 4th floor Elecsom building. Parking can be a bit of a challenge here since there are only limited slots available being shared by gym goers (Elorde boxing gym) and Footworks students. I parked along a side street where an Elorde gym staff assisted me.

I signed up for the saturday 12nn aerial hoops class taught by teacher Amaya. Upon entering the studio, I was greeted by the studio secretary and was asked to log in. I just told her that I signed up through KFit by showing her my reservation in the app. The studio itself is big; it can probably fit around 10 students or more per class. They have 4 hoops and crash mats to use. They also sell sports bra and pole shorts in case you forgot to bring yours. Compared to the ones I am used to, their hoop is quite low and smaller in diameter, but their crash mats are thick (very secure!).  At the time of my visit, there were 4 of us so I had a hoop all to myself. 🙂 I just do hope they provide water (for free or sale) for students though. It is a bit of a hassle to go down and buy water when you forget to bring one.

Photo 22-10-2016, 11 53 21 AM.jpg

The class itself was fun! Teacher Amaya is very bubbly, and she makes sure you are able to do the trick. Even for a practiced aerialist like me, I do get disoriented at times especially when I am upside down. She repeatedly helped me with the tricks and cheered. 🙂 I still have 2 class pass for this month so I do hope I can join another hoops class before my monthly subscription expires.

In summary, my rating for my first visit at Footworks Dance Studio are:

  • Studio: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Class: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Staff: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Parking area: ⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Ambiance/environment: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

If you are subscribed to KFit, you can avail 3 of their classes in a month. Just search for Footworks Dance Studio, and make sure the location is Katipunan. ~~

Leave a Reply

