Tummy Travels: Foodtrip in Cebu City

My fiancé Jp and I had always been a sucker for good food. He can easily tell if I like the food just bu looking at my first reaction on the first bite. Of course, our vacation will not be complete without the foodtrip. However, due to time and budget constraints we focused on exploring what Lahug, Cebu has to offer.

PIZZA REPUBLIC “PICK + MIX” BY GIUSEPPE GENCO

The Project Pie of Cebu– as I’ve heard one of the guests say. I’ve never been to any Project Pie branch, but I know at the very least what they offer. I’ve been to this place when I first visited in July of 2015. A good friend of mine introduced the place to me, just a few meters away from the condo I was staying at. We went here for dinner in the hopes of filling our tummy with our very own pizza. Since this is a make-your-own pizza, we didn’t hold back in choosing our ingredients. 😄

We were first asked what size we want– 7 or 10 inches, and we chose the latter. Afterwards we chose our sauce and toppings. We had plain Italian sauce for our base, and the following as our toppings: cheddar and mozzarella cheese, cheese sausage, beef salami, bologna, pepperoni, bacon ham, mushroom champignon, black olives, onions, thyme, and pesto sauce. SO DELICIOUS! 😋

img_9095
Our finished product!

Just for 245 pesos (the 7″ pizza costs 145 pesos with a drink), this is one of the best pizzas we’ve had so far. I like how our chosen ingredients well complemented each other, and how the pizza was baked to the right crispness. Even if some parts of the crust seemed toasted, it still tasted good.

The branch we visited is located in Salinas Drive corner La Guardia street, Lahug, Cebu City. More info can be found in their Facebook page: Pizza Republic.

ILAPUTI

Some say that Ilaputi is a must-try restaurant in the city so we gave it a shot. Located inside Cebu I.T. Park, it was not that hard to find.

Lunch time was just starting when we got in. We saw this nicely decorated tree so so I told Jp that I’d like to sit on the chairs below it. However, at the time of our visit their exhaust was not working properly so we had to endure the smoke a little bit (we were offered to stay outside but chose not to because it was hot).

I was so hungry I wasn’t able to get a good picture of our first dish. 😀 We ordered a full size of The Stroganov, Salipicado, and Jan’s Signature Sisig. It was my first time to try a sisig topped with quail egg. Usually the regular chicken egg is used to top it off. Among the three dishes we had, I like the Salpicado the most. The meat was tender enough to cut it using a spoon (or a fork). The fried rice that came along with it tasted good too! I also ordered a ripe mango shake. Surprsingly, the serving size is big. I wasn’t even able to finish it by myself. 😀

Ilaputi is located at I1 Building, Cebu IT Park, Lahug, Cebu City. More info can be found in their Facebook page: Ilaputi.

LA NOSTRA PIZZERIA NAPOLETANA

After my class at Pole Sphinx, Jp and I headed to Streetscape for our dinner. We heard that there’s a nice Italian restaurant in the complex so we decided to check it out ourselves.

La Nostra is located at first floor far end corner of Streetscape. Judging by its appearance, the restaurant seems to offer a fancy experience, contrary to the mainstream ones we’ve tried so far (ex. Italianni’s).

At the time of our visit, there were not much people yet so we got the chance to get a good seat near the kitchen and washroom. When we went it, we noticed two foreign-looking individuals who seem to be the owners of the restaurant. The place had a relaxing ambiance, letting us get a feel of what it is like to dine in a fancy Italian restaurant. We also noticed a big frame hung on the wall near our table saying “approvato vera pizza napoletana. If we understood it correctly, it means that their style of making a Neapolitan pizza is according to its truest form.

Since we were hungry, we decided to order 2 pasta and a pizza. We had Spaghetti Aglio e Olio, Spaghetti Bolognese, and a half-and-half pizza of Capricciosa and Pizza “La Nostra”. Yes, you can have two flavors in one pizza. Just tell the server yo would want to have it this way. Both pasta tasted good but I like aglio e olio more. The Pizza “La Nostra” is a must try! I fell in love with it in just one bite. 😀

La Nostra is located at Ground Floor, Streetscape, Paseo Saturnino, Ma. Luisa Road City, Banilad, Cebu City. More info can be found in their Facebook page: La Nostra Pizzeria Napoletana.

SHAKA HAWAIIAN RESTAURANT

It was evening when we passed by this open-air restaurant on our way home from my class at Pole Sphinx.The place was illuminated by colorful lights, giving a tree-house beach vibe. We told ourselves to try the place out before we leave the city.

It was lunch time on a sunday when we went here. We thought the place was closed because when we checked Google, it said it is closed on a sunday. Good thing we didn’t give up. 😀 When we arrived the place was not yet that much packed, but I noticed that they are undermanned. There were not enough people to attend to the orders or requests of the customers, or even to immediately clean the tables.

After several attempts on calling a crew’s attention to clean the table, we finally got the chance to sit down and place our orders. We ordered: buko-lychee and ripe mango shakes, single serve pineapple rice, kapampangan sisig, pork mask with pineapple dip, and loco-moco burger steak. Among all the dishes we chose, I like the pineapple rice and pork mask the most. I think their pork mask would be a better pulutan than their kapampangan sisig. 😀 Their sisig is ok, but not the kind that I would order the next time. I also got a chance to take a few bites of the loco-moco burger steak, and it was also good. I like how soft and flavorful the patty is.

img_9060

Shaka Hawaiian Restaurant is located at Garden Bloc, Cebu I.T. Park, Lahug, Cebu City. More info can be found in their Facebook account: Shaka Hawaiian Restaurant.

Leave a Reply

